The Northern Centre for Contemporary Art (NCCA) remains the only independent public gallery in the Northern Territory dedicated to contemporary art. This unique mantle and mandate manifests through a diverse and dynamic annual exhibition and public program which supports both artists and other cultural programs within Darwin. The gallery has long been a critical platform for forging an interface between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal art and artists. The NCCA began life in 1989 as 24HR Art, NT Centre for Contemporary Art, a reference to the gallery’s original location in a disused petrol station. In 1990, we moved to our current location in the former Parap Cinema building. Our name change in 2013 gives emphasis to the gallery’s vision as a contemporary art crucible both of the Northern Territory, as well as our orientation that looks northward towards remote Indigenous and Southeast Asian communities.

VISION: To cultivate contemporary visual arts, artists, and audiences.

MISSION: NCCA is the leading center for contemporary visual art in the Northern Territory – bringing together diverse communities of artists and audiences to engage with contemporary ideas and practices. NCCA brokers opportunities for artists locally, nationally, and internationally and connects communities through its dynamic programs.

NCCA Values

EXPERIMENTATION: Providing a supportive and critical space for artists and curators to take risks. ACCESSIBILITY: Presenting art in a context that develops audiences and understanding.

EXCHANGE: Connecting artists and arts organisations across the Northern Territory, Australia, and Asia. INTEGRITY: Conducting business with respect, honesty, and transparency.

EXCELLENCE: Pursuing high-quality artistic content and presentation models across exhibitions, projects, and public programs.


NCCA Constitution

Current Board Members

Alastair Shields (Chair)

Robert Welfare (Secretary)

Karen Brown (Vice-Chair)

Wendy Garden(Ordinary Board Member)

Neville Pantazis (Ordinary Board Member)

Dr Prash P. (Ordinary Board Member)

Dr Sarah Scott (Ordinary Board Member)

The Chair and NCCA thank outgoing board members in 2017: Freda Canaris (Ordinary Member) and Brett Walker (Ordinary Member) for their service on the Board, and Colvin Crowe for his long period as a public officer. He also thanks to regular volunteers, Bill Davies and John Waller. We also thank Neville Pantazis, the Greek Orthodox Community, Charlie Randazzo and Rosanna Spadaccini, The Right Worshipful Kon Vatskalis (Lord Mayor), the Indonesian Consul, Therese Ritchie, Rupert Betheras, Mike Stitfold, Darwin Festival, Charles Darwin University, Jenny Ashby, and all members who have participated in exhibitions. A special thank you to our funding bodies, ArtsNT, and the Australia Council for their ongoing support. CAOA is also thanked for their support and alliance with NCCA.