NCCA Board

Colin McDonald, QC (Chair)

BA, LLB (Hons) . Inaugural President of the Northern Territory Criminal Lawyer’s Association, 1982; appointed by the Australian Foreign Affairs Minister the Honourable Gareth Evans QC to the Board of the Australian-Indonesia Institute, 1984; Life member of the Northern Territory Criminal Lawyers Association, President of the Northern Territory Bar Association – 1997 to 2000, Member of the Executive Committee of the Australian Bar Association – 1997 to 2000, President Northern Territory Branch of the International Commission of Jurists – 2000 to present, Member of the Board of the Australian-Indonesia Institute – 1989 to 1994 in the Hawke and Keating Governments, Member of the Board of Directors to the Cambodian Legal Resource Development Centre in Phnom Penh, Cambodia – 1999 to present, Member of the Royal Darwin Hospital Management Board – 2002 – 2003, Chairman of the Royal Darwin Hospital Management Board 2003 to present, Chairman of the Royal Darwin Hospital Ethics Committee 2003 to present, Continuing member of the Advisory Committee of the Asian law Journal, University of Melbourne, Chairman Northern Territory Museums and Art Galleries Board 1997 to 2000 and 2003 to 2006, Chairman of the Visiting Committee of the School of Humanities, Psychology and Social Sciences at the Charles Darwin University, Darwin, Member of the Panel of Chairs of the NT Police Promotions Appeals Board 2000 to present, Member of the Panel of Chairs of the NT Police Inability and Disciplinary Appeals Board 2005 and continuing, Member of the Board of the Institute of Legal Studies at the Australian Catholic University, North Sydney, Head of Chambers at William Forster Chambers 1998 to present

Ross Springolo (Secretary & Public Officer)

Ross Springolo is currently the Director, Strategic Services and Governance at Charles Darwin University based in Darwin. In connection with this role, Ross is a member of a number of internal CDU committees, including Corporations Act Company Secretary for the Charles Darwin University Foundation. Ross also belongs to a number of committees for external organisations including Menzies School of Health Research, Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education, and Melaleuca Refugee Centre Torture and Trauma Survivors Service of the NT. Ross holds a number of tertiary degrees including Master of Commerce and Master of Educational Administration.

Fernanda Camara (Treasurer)

Fernanda Camara is the Director of Finance at Charles Darwin University, and was formerly Chief Financial Officer at Jacana Energy, and Account Director at Deloitte. She is a Certified Internal Auditor and Member of the Institute of Internal Auditors

Karen Brown

Karen Brown is the principal of Karen Brown Fine Art, a commercial art gallery specialising in Aboriginal Art.

Robert Welfare

Robert Welfare is a lawyer and the principal of Robert Welfare and Associates lawyers.

Alistair Shields

Alistair Shields is Chair of the AustralAsia Railway Corporation, Chair of the Racing Commission (NT), and Chief Executive Officer of the Darwin Waterfront Corporation. He is the Northern Territory Government representative on the Joint Management Board for Kakadu National Park, and he also provides specialist consulting services to a number of private sector and Government Clients.

In the period 2013 to 2017, Alastair held a number of Chief Executive Officer roles for Northern Territory Government agencies, including the Department of Tourism and Culture (from its establishment in September 2016 until December 2017), the Department of Land Resource Management (from February 2015 until December 2016), the Department of Business (during 2014), and the Department of Children and Families (2013).

He is also a member of the board of the Darwin Entertainment Centre, and Darwin Community Legal Service, and is a member of the National Trust of Australia (NT), and was a former Deputy Chair of the Museum and Art Galleries Board of the Northern Territory.

Kaye Strange

Kaye Strange is a practicing visual artist, exhibiting her work in over thirty, group and solo, exhibitions since 1985. Originally from Melbourne, she graduated from RMIT in 1989 having completed a Bachelor in Fine Art majoring in both painting and photography.  In 2000 she returned to post-graduate study at the Victorian College of the Arts completing a Masters in Fine Art, under (of only two offered) full scholarship, in 2002. In 2003 she moved to Darwin.  Kaye holds positions at Charles Darwin University as accreditation and course development officer and as a visual arts lecturer.  Previously she worked in the oil and gas industry as a contract administrator and cost controller.  She is a member of the National Association for the Visual Arts.

Neville Pantazis

Neville Pantazis is a Director of Parap Fine Foods. He holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts from the University of Tasmania, and is a Board Member of the Darwin Entertainment Centre. He is a former gallery owner, and has long been involved in promoting the visual arts in Darwin.

Dr Aggie Wegner

Dr Aggie Wegner is Associate Dean Research and Research Training / Senior Research Fellow at Charles Darwin University. She is a social scientist with a background in environmental science and management, tourism and policy. Her multidisciplinary background provides her with many opportunities to work collaboratively with other academics, government agencies, community groups, non-governmental organisations and industry partners. In addition to her research activities she is actively involved in University governance. In 2010 she received the Ryan Family Award Special Commendation for outstanding contribution to Charles Darwin University. Aggie has published in the policy, environmental management, education, and tourism fields. She has a strong research focus and interest in the management of natural resources, all aspects of policy and decision-making processes as well as human dimensions of interactions with a focus on partnerships.